HYBRID EVENT: You can participate in person at Rome, Italy or Virtually from your home or work.
ELOS 2022

Rajvardhan Azad

Rajvardhan Azad, Speaker at Lasers Conferences
Indira Gandhi Institute of Medical Sciences, India
Title : Posterior laser barrage in advancing retinopathy of prematurity


A total of 20 infants with bilateral symmetric zone 2 stages 3 advancing ROP were treated with conventional laser treatment followed by randomization of one eye to receive additional posterior retinal laser treatment.
Patients were followed up prospectively for 3 months. 
Structural and functional outcomes and safety profiles were analyzed. 
Results: 18/20 (90%) eyes in the study group and 19/20 (95%) eyes in the control group achieved regression of disease. 
Faster and complete regression was observed at 4 weeks after posterior laser compared to the control group (P = 0.024). 
Conclusion: Additional posterior barrage laser is a safe technique that led to faster and more complete regression in eyes with advancing ROP.

Audience Take Away:
New research will help the student understand the intricacies of the new technique and also its usefulness in preventing  blindness in children
This will also familiarise the audience regarding
Utility of laser applications in halting neo-vascularisation due to avascular retina.


Well known among his peers across the world for his scholarly and outstanding contribution as an able Administrator, Educationist, Researcher, and Vitreoretinal Surgeon.   
Traveled widely and was invited to deliver lectures as Visiting Prof and Scientist all over the world.
Published 12 books including the only book published on ROP in the world. He has published more than 400 original research papers
Done extensive research in the field of retinopathy of prematurity -Role of Renin-Angiotensin System, Stem cells, VEGF and differential expression of genes in Pathogenesis of ROP are few of his original work. 
 Past President and Secretary of AIOS, and first and only from India to hold the prestigious post of the President of Asia Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology.